How Much Auto Insurance You Legally Have to Have

Auto insurance is something that can be a bit tricky for some but it doesn’t have to be. Here at General Insurance Agency, serving Clovis, NM, we know that you simply need to have the minimum amount of coverage based on the laws in the state. You do not have to any anything more unless you want to have it but you cannot have anything less or you will be breaking the law. As long as you meet the minimum requirements for the state of New Mexico, you will not have any issues.

What Are the State Minimum Requirements?

In the state of New Mexico, the laws for auto insurance outline that drivers of vehicles are required to have minimum liability auto insurance. There are also specifically set amounts of coverage that are needed. Drivers need to have at least $25,000 in coverage for bodily injury to or death of one person, $50,000 in coverage for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and $10,000 in coverage for property damage in any one accident. Keep in mind that these are all liability coverages.

Now that you know what is required of you in order to remain legally compliant in terms of auto insurance in Clovis, NM, you need to make sure that you have that coverage. If you are not sure how much coverage you currently have and if it meets the minimum requirement, we can take a look at that for you. if you do not have a policy, we can even get you a free quote for coverage that will ensure you are following the law and also staying within budget. Be sure to reach out to us here at General Insurance Agency today to get started.